What is QUALSHIP 21?

In the efforts to eliminate substandard shipping, the Coast Guard has  focused the energy on improved methods to identify poor-quality vessels (targeting schemes), and to enforce compliance with international and U.S. standards.

The quality of vessels visiting U.S. ports has improved in recent years, and hundreds of vessels are typically found with few or no deficiencies. However, we shall recall that since 21 of January 2001 the USCG reward those high-quality ships, and provide incentives to encourage quality operations.

This initiative is called QUALSHIP 21, Quality shipping for the 21st century.

Flag States that are Eligible 2008, are as follow:

Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Bulgaria *, Canada, China, France *, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hong Kong, India *, Israel, Malaysia *, Marshall Islands, Norway, Philippines *, Republic of Korea, Sweden, United Kingdom.

* For 2008, the number of qualifying registries has increased to 21, this is contingent upon some registries providing us a copy of their Self Assessment Form (SAF); those marked with an * require an SAF be submitted.

Suppporting Documents are available on USCG Homeport web site

Do not hesitate to contact ECM for FREE assistance.

Comments are closed.

Stay updated with us

Stay updated with us

You can receive our free news directly by: