ECM Europe offers assistance with USCG Qualship 21 Program

What is Qualship 21?

Qualship 21 is a U.S. Coast Guard Program that provides incentives for the well run, quality vessels that are operated responsibly, and are typically found with few or no deficiencies. These quality vessels should be recognized and rewarded for their commitment to safety and quality. Therefore, the Coast Guard implemented this initiative to identify high-quality ships, and provide incentives to encourage quality operations.

What are the benefits of participating in the Qualship 21 Program?

All Vessels

  • Qualship 21 Certificate valid for 2 years.
  • Vessel names posted on U.S. Coast Guard Homeport & EQUASIS.

Tank Vessels

  • Annual COC exams reduced in scope.

Freight Vessels

  • Two years of limited Port State Control oversight.

Passenger Vessels

  • No reduced Port State Control exams, but will receive QUALSHIP 21 certificates and recognition on the QUALSHIP21 web page and EQUASIS.

How to participate in the Qualship 21 Program?

For the purpose of Qualship 21, the initial eligibility criteria are:

  • Must be a non-U.S. flagged ship
  • No vessel detentions in the U.S. within the previous 36 months
  • No marine violations or serious marine casualties, and no more than one ticket in the U.S. within the previous 36 months
  • Successful U.S. PSC Safety Exam within the previous 12 months
  • Not owned or operated by any company that has been associated with any PSC detention in U.S. waters within the previous 24 months
  • Not classed by, or have their statutory Convention Certificate issued by, a targeted class society (Targeted class societies are any class societies that have points assigned in the U.S PSC Control Matrix)
  • Not registered with a Flag Administration that has a detention ratio greater than 1.0% and the vessel’s Flag Administration must have at least 10 distinct arrivals in each of the previous 3 years.
  • The vessel’s Flag Administration must have submitted their Self-Assessment of Flag Administration (State) Performance to the IMO and provided a copy to the U.S. Coast Guard
  • Vessel’s Flag State must have submitted their Executive Summary from their Voluntary Member State Audit Scheme (VMSAS) audit to the IMO and provided a copy to the U.S. Coast Guard
  • The vessel may not be owned or operated by any company that is required by the US Department of Justice to havean Environmental Compliance Plan or Enhanced Compliance Plan.

Only the following European Flag Administrations are eligible to participate in the Coast Guard Program:

  • France
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • The Nederlands
  • Norway
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • Russian Federation

ECM Europe’s assistance

ECM Europe supports its Clients who are willing to participate in Qualship 21 Program. We will help you to review all the Qualship 21 requirements and to obtain all the documents needed to apply for Program recognition.

Ship Owners who believe that they have vessels eligible to participate, but do not see them listed on the Qualship 21 webpage are invited to contact ECM Europe for further instructions.

Comments are closed.

Stay updated with us

Stay updated with us

You can receive our free news directly by: